Merry Christmas!

I’m currently back home in Australia, enjoying the beautiful warm weather. It’s so great to be here after almost three years away! I was filled with nostalgia as I drove through the streets, noticing things I’d long forgotten about. But, more than anything, it is just awesome to be surrounded by my family again. Christmas in Australia is of course in the summer – something which my Japanese friends can’t comprehend! We usually spend the day soaking up the sun, having a BBQ, playing a game of backyard cricket or sometimes going for a swim at a river or beach. Very relaxed and casual!

Christmas in Japan is very different. It’s cold. But not cold enough for it to ever snow, which is just disappointing! No one gives presents. Hardly anyone gets together with their family. A lot of people even still have to work!! I guess it’s not surprising, considering Japan is not a christian country. But, come on!!

One tradition I do enjoy is the Christmas illuminations. I have seen some fantastic light displays, from Nagoya to Hiroshima to Nagasaki, each with their special features. Tokyo’s illuminations this year were no exception. I didn’t get to see half of what I wanted, but here’s a taste of what Tokyo has on show.

Let’s start with Roppongi! The lights at Roppongi Hills are possibly the most famous in Tokyo. It really is beautiful walking up the main street under the glistening trees.

A short video of the Tokyo Midtown Starlight Garden. Sorry the quality is a bit low – it was taken on my iPhone.

Next is Tama Center in western Tokyo. I loved the blue tunnel! And they had a REAL Christmas tree – it was massive!

Lastly, the happiest place on earth: Disneyland! The Santa Village Parade was adorable <3 Never too old for a bit of fun!

メリークリスマス! Merry Xmas everyone! I hope you are all surrounded by love and happiness.

2 thoughts on “Merry Christmas!

Share your thoughts!

