Tulips in Tachikawa

Last weekend, I tried to make the most of the tail end of the cherry blossoms in Tokyo. I checked out Showa Memorial Park, a massive 163 hectare park out in Tachikawa, western Tokyo. The last time I was here was for the stunning Autumn festival. The park has about 1500 sakura trees, so I was excited to catch a glimpse of the later blooming varieties. But, as I walked through the park gates, I literally walked into a flower festival – tulips were everywhere! My nature-loving mind exploded with joy! The bizarre varieties of tulips, the vibrant colours, the fragrance in the air, the pond, the stream, the green lawns – it was all so perfect. I walked around in a daze, wishing that one day this could be my own backyard (of my imaginary house)!! My favourite tulip was one called the ‘honeymoon’. For a flower with so many spikes to be called that, it makes you wonder about the person who named it! Perhaps their marriage didn’t work out as they’d hoped?! No, but actually I think they are referred to as ‘frills’, not spikes, which makes more sense.

The 'honeymoon' tulip

The ‘honeymoon’ tulip

16 thoughts on “Tulips in Tachikawa

  1. ハネムーンという名前のチューリップは、とても変わっていますね。スパイクじゃなくて、フリルのほうが おしゃれで いいと思います。新緑(しんりょく)の葉がついた桜の木のまわりに、色あざやかな
    チューリップーの畑(はたけ)と 芝生(しばふ)が ひろがり、小川が流れている光景は、とても
    魅力的です。チューリップの花に香り(かおり)があるとは、知りませんでした。あなたが 昭和公園を訪れた日は、あまり ひとが来ていませんでしたか。ほんとうに 美しい夢をみたようでしたね。

    Like

    • この庭園の花や木や小川の配置は完璧ですよね。家の裏にこういう庭を作りたいのでしょうか!
      人がいっぱいいましたよ!カメラの前に人がいたら、景色をよく見えませんので、同じ場所に待っていて写真を撮りました!笑

      Like

  2. When we view the images as a slide show, two images get overlapped, so it is uncomfortable to look at the slides.
    Could you fix the problem please?

    Like

    • Thanks for letting me know. I don’t have that problem when I view the pictures, so I’m not sure why it’s doing that for you. I wonder if other people have the same problem. I’ll look into it and see what I can do. :)

      Like

  3. These photos are absolutely breathtaking! Though, my favorite is the Honeymoon Tulip. I’ve never seen anything like it. It just wish I could reach through the screen and touch it! Thanks for sharing these!

    Like

    • Thanks so much Adelie :-) It’s amazing, isn’t it?! It was the first time for me to see it, too. That’s a great idea – 4D photos… surely it’s possible?!

      Like

Share your thoughts!

