Weekly Photo Challenge: Room

This post is in response to the Daily Post Weekly Photo Challenge. This week’s theme is “room“.

***

Come with me to my workplace. I spend about 15~20 hours per week standing at the front of a classroom. Teaching is a tough but fun job. One of the things I love most about it is that everyday is different; you can never get bored!

In Japan, a typical class has 40 students. Six columns and 6-7 rows of desks. It’s tight! The teacher has about one metre at the front of the room, between the blackboard and the first row of students. At the back of the room, are the students’ lockers as well as cleaning cupboards with brooms, dustpans, garbage bins, etc.

I work in a private high school, so we’re lucky we get air-conditioning/heating all year round. Public schools have to tough it out in the bitter cold of winter and the scorching temperatures of summer. There’s nothing like trying to teach while dripping in sweat, to a class full of hot and tired students. I know all about that. They do alright though, the kids; they don’t complain much!

 

Japanese Classroom

10 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Room

  1. Oh the memories, I would counter with an image of m own from 1994 ! ,.. if I knew how to share it here, always love checking your site, keep posting.

    Like

      • Yep, but what I miss is the respect the kids show for their surroundings,.. clean , neat , tidy , orderly , I will bet there is little to no damage to the desk tops & that you do not have to clean the board or a duster,…. seen an Ozzie class room recently ! …it must be a dream to work there, I hope you do not loose sight of how lucky you are.
        No too sure how “liberal” you can get with your classes but an idea which worked really well for me was to have an “cooking class” in English. Really it was more of a bonding / fun / excuse for a BBQ. Picture if you could, end of term, 3 classes of the same year come together, 90 kids, we do a bit of prep & shopping, for Ozzie hamburgers,.. i.e. with pineapple. I set up a production line of students , mixing the mince , shaping the patties, cutting the condiments, buttering the buns [ finding buns in 1990s was impossible but I conned the local Maccas into selling 100] & the cooking all done by the students. It was a scream, a great success so we repeated it every year, sometimes a couple of times a year. The funniest thing I remember was the two boys I tasked with buttering the buns, one had never even butter bread before [ Japanese mothers !!] as evident by his not realising the reason his knife would not pick up any butter was because the new tub of butter had paper seal on top…!

        Like

        • That’s a super idea. Sounds like it was a great success at your school. How did you buy enough meat? And did you do it in the Home Ec room?

          We do cooking in our English Club which is always so fun. But I’m not sure if it’s possible with normal classes – one year level has 200-300 students! It would be unfair to do it just with one or two classes. But I’d love to try it someday if I can make it happen.

          Yeah, tell me about it. Mums in Japan are too soft!! Some of these kids just expect everything to be spoon-fed to them!

          Like

          • 200-300 , NO problem ! [ha]

            Meat was many kilos of mince [ forget how many ], tomatoes, onion, lettuce, etc from Seiyu . Kinokuniya for pineapple rings & the odd stuff like worcestershire sauce & garlic powder, [ things are different now , I think you can get most of this anywhere].

            Just doing the shopping was several classes of vernacular , expressions etc, sure you can imagine. I gave small groups a “shopping list” each of different things for homework.

            Mixing the burger mince , cutting & cooking was done in the HEc room & I had a little fold up BBQ which cooked about 12 at a time . End of term “thing” it dragged on for hours , teachers even loved it.

            I even did this on the balcony of a couple of ECC classes I had over the years, always a great success. Lots of work but very worth while form a bonding / cultural / idiom perspective.

            But you gotta love Japanese mums, salt of the ….

            Like

            • I’ve decided I’m going to try this with my 2 summer course classes in a couple of weeks, if I can! There are just 10 students in each class, so very doable. I just have to try twist the arms of the Home Ec teachers – they are protective of their ‘territory’ if you know what I mean. But I’m excited! Thanks so much :)

              Like

            • Derek, just wanted to let you know I did the cooking class with two groups of students last week. It was fantastic. We didn’t make burgers, but burritos instead (couldn’t use the kitchen, so had to find a non heat required recipe). I wanted to show them Mr Bean ‘making a sandwich’ as a lead in but didn’t have time (I wonder if they would have got the humour?!). We learnt some cooking words e.g. grate, slice, and practiced a short conversation explaining how to make the burritos, and wrote up the recipe. It was so great to see the students working together and excited to be making something with their own hands. Thank you so much for the idea :-)

              Like

  2. 明るい日差しが入った 静(しず)かな教室を こっそり のぞいて見た時、何を思いましたか。
    こんな整然(せいぜん)とした教室で、教鞭(きょうべん)をとる セリア先生の姿を みたいです。

    Like

Share your thoughts!

