Weekly Photo Challenge: Containers

This post is in response to the Daily Post Weekly Photo Challenge. This week’s theme is “containers“.

***

For this week’s challenge, Ben has asked us to “give outer shells their due and focus our lenses on things that contain other things”. 

A while ago I was traveling around Kyushu, Japan’s southern island. We had just visited the Moai in Miyazaki Prefecture (deep countryside!), and decided to stop at a cafe for lunch. The last thing I ever expected to see – in some cafe in the middle of nowhere – was something like this. These sparkly, shiny glass objects caught my eye and I was mesmerised. I couldn’t believe what I was seeing!

The first is a ‘vase’ – the price tag says ¥2,310,000 (about $24,000). The second is a ‘cup’ – with a price of ¥1,995,000 (about $20,000). I later found out that the genius behind these works of art is a Miyazaki-local, world-renowned glass artist by the name of Kuroki Kuniaki. He’s show cased his work in many places like Paris, Venice, Rome, Athens, Taiwan, Denmark, Egypt, Australia and the US! A pretty big deal! I feel lucky to have seen these exquisite works of art with my own eyes.

More on his stuff here if you’re interested >> http://www.glass-art-m.com (Japanese site)

Glass Art Glass Art

12 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Containers

  1. Pingback: WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: Containers | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  2. この花瓶(かびん)のデザインは 金や銀の地層(ちそう)のなかに いろいろな宝石(ほうせき)が 
    化石(かせき)のように 埋(うめ)められた 宝石箱(ほうせきばこ)のように 見えます。 
    それから カラスのカップは 中に ティーポットが ひかっているように 見えます。
    とても 不思議で 神秘的(しんぴてき)な ガラス工芸品ですね。

    Like

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: CONTAINERS | The Adventures of Iñigo Boy

  4. Pingback: tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  5. Beautiful !
    I assume you have discovered the “exhibition floors” of department stores ..! ?
    When I was there at the end of the “bubble” , every dept store had the most stunning exhibitions of everything from all over the world. It was my Sunday thing to go to one & be dazzled & educated. Now I have noted that many are nothing more than what we would call the “bargain basement” selling rubbish. Sad.
    However , Mitsukoshi Nihonbashio I know maintains the tradition.
    Actually may fav exhibition was/is the “Japan Traditional Art Crafts Exhibition (日本伝統工芸展), I didn’t miss one for the 7 years I lived there & have been able to catch a few since coming home. It is due 17-29 Sept this year.
    I find it sooo beautiful , original , different , JAPANESE , it takes my breath away.
    Sadly, one is not aloud to photograph [ they sell books listing the items] , however in typical gaijin style, I snuck a few shots last year, just to have the memories & I have put them on Flickr if you want to have a look. The one of the blue bowl was not the attraction , it was the glass screen, you had to see it in the “flesh”, stunning.
    https://flic.kr/s/aHsk11DGbe

    Like

    • Thanks for sharing! They are really beautiful and unique. I haven’t actually been to any exhibition floors, that I can recall. Are these in any/every department store? I’ll have to check that out.

      The Exhibition sounds right up my alley. I will put it on my calendar! Thank you! :-)

      Like

      • re”I haven’t actually been to any exhibition floors,”… really !!
        ….in general, the “top” floor of most Deptos had / have [?] some sort of an exhibition space. May I suggest when next in any major depart , take the lift to the top [ or near ] floor first .
        Often I would see ads in trains for outstanding stuff.
        I can remember going to OIOI [OIMEN now] Shinjuku to see one exhibition every day for the 2 weeks it was on it was so stunning.
        All the big stores had something , usually seasonal, for a few weeks to months, sometimes interactive, i.e. you could watch someone making their craft / art,…
        Mitsukoshi Nihonbashi , it is the 7th floor http://mitsukoshi.mistore.jp/store/nihombashi/floor/main_7f/index.html
        I realise departs are not what they used to be, but keep a look out.

        Like

Share your thoughts!

