Snowy Tokyo

I love having Fridays off work, but today is extra exciting!! I’m sitting here in a café 26 floors up. Looking out of these giant glass windows, all I can see is a vast sea of ‘white’! It’s bizarre but very cool seeing snowy roof tops in Tokyo. You’d be forgiven for thinking this was snow country, but it actually only snows a few days a year.

Snowy Tokyo

Snowy Tokyo

I woke up this morning to the delightful sound of snow crunching under people’s boots. It has since turned into icy rain, but a beautiful mist is left hovering over the city. From inside this warm cafe, it actually looks quite cozy out there, like we’re inside of a fluffy cloud. With visibility only a few kilometres, Tokyo has suddenly become quite small!

This morning, I visited Shoin-jinja, a shrine built in the 1880s. It was originally dedicated to Master Shoin, a teacher of military strategies and tactics, who was killed when he was 30. These days, it’s dedicated to the God of Learning and apparently many people come from all over to pray for success with their studies. Shrines feel so much more peaceful covered in snow. I always feel like I should tread softly!

There’s just something intriguing about snow. Maybe it’s to do with the change it brings. It completely transforms a place that you have gotten used to seeing every day. I know there might be some people reading this who are currently 5-feet deep in snow and wishing they were anywhere else, but when it’s not something you’re used to seeing, it’s like that feeling you got as a child waking up on Christmas morning! My inner child wants to run out and build a snowman or start a snow ball fight! I love seeing kids wide-eyed in wonder when they see all those beautiful snowflakes falling from the sky.

After all those pictures of a grey concrete city covered white snow, I leave you with these bright and cheerful flowers.
Have a great weekend everyone!

Snowy Tokyo

15 thoughts on “Snowy Tokyo

  1. 吉田 松陰(よしだ しょういん)は 長州藩(ちょうしゅうはん)、現在の山口県の出身(しゅっしん)です。わたしは 若いころに 山口県の萩(はぎ)が 出身地の 祖母(そぼ)と一緒に 吉田松陰の生家(せいか)を見に行ったことが あります。吉田松陰は 日本の開国(かいこく)に 大きく貢献(こうけん)した人と しても 有名です。松蔭は 坂本 龍馬 とともに 幕末(ばくまつ)の 英雄(えいゆう)と いえると、おもいます。松蔭先生は 学術(がくじゅつ)の神様に なっているのですね。日本では 英雄が 神様になるようです。

    Like

    • 吉田松陰の生家は美術館のように変わりましたか。松陰先生がそれほど有名な歴史上の人物でしたのを聞いてびっくりしました!彼は日本のために大変な仕事をしましたが、最後には悲しいことになりましたね。

      Like

  2. Thank you for sharing Celia, snow really does have a way of transforming a place doesn’t it!
    Your bright and cheery flowers are beautiful…….and extremely hardy, looking at the ice around them.
    Have a wonderful day! :)
    ~Carl~

    Like

    • Thanks Carl! I have to admit, these bright and healthy flowers are my neighbours’. I do have some small pot plants, but they are currently ‘sleeping’ (not sure if they will wake up)!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I find pictures of snow in Japan very calming and peaceful…as if everyone stayed inside and didn’t disturb it. While I find that here in parks or other open expanses, on the streets there doesn’t seem to be that peace. Odd. Perhaps I am just romanticizing it.
    As always, your pictures are wonderful. Keep them coming.

    Like

      • Maybe it is a question of the fleeting nature of snow in Japan versus the unrelenting winter here in Canada. Maybe, the snow just slows things down in Japan. The first snowfall is like that here, but then people ignore it and the pace of life doesn’t slow to look around. The cars and salt trucks turn the white pristine snow into dirty globs and trudging through the snow is no longer a silent solitary walk, but a task.
        As I write this, I realize that at least part of it is my own attitude, and part is the dirty slush the snow has become……hmmm. I will need more time to ponder.

        Like

        • Yeah I see what you mean. In places like remote Niigata where they get about 3m of snow, I think a lot of people get depressed and that’s why you won’t find many young people there. Whereas in places like Tokyo where snow is so rare, people get excited about it. What was bizarre to see though, was when it stops snowing, everyone helps to clean the streets before it turns into dirty piles of ice!

          Liked by 1 person

  4. the flower ending was just great – and I really shared in this snow appreciation and sightseeing post – :) wqe hardly get any snow here in RVA and got teased with that recent storm that went up North – I mean – so glad to not have had the storm – and glad to not have major winters here – but we do miss a bit of snow – especially as you note if it is not all the time –
    ” just something intriguing about snow”

    <3

    Like

    • Yeah, it’s nice every once in a while! I don’t think I could survive all winter surrounded by snow though. That recent storm looked pretty rough – I saw some pics from Chicago and NY. Brr!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah, and there were some pics from Maine that were rough too – but why also prepare for it so that makes a difference – and well, the “wonder” of the snow was just nice to read about here in this post – have a great week C

        Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts!

